Help mouth rot!

Lyneeso

I am familiar with the many hard to diagnose causes of this dibilitating infection. I have treated many lizards (mainly green iguanas) for mouth rot in the past. Ive never heard of a chameleon getting it, however my experience with chams is limited compared to my experience with the reptiles more generally found in small pet stores. I was a manager of a pet room many years ago and seem to remember using a topical ointment with great success. Some sort of over the counter antibiotic ointment. can anyone help me with the name??? Neomyacin?? is that it?? I think thats somwhat close to the name. Any other info greatly appreciated. I plan to boost Vitamin C and temperature whilst smothering the sores on lips with the ointment for a week or so. She seems to have a great appetite and if it werent for my past experience with this type of problem I wouldn't have ever noticed it this early, the bottom lips are just beginning to get "puffy" and have developed very small "lesions". I would post pics but have no way to do so at this time. I'm not going to fill out that huge questionaire because I have before, and everyone seemed to think I was doing everything correctly. Which I am. Mouth rot can be assosiated with everything from too low of temperatures, stress, bad nutrition, and the color of your carpet!!! I am well read on correct AND incorrect husbandry skills for veiled chams I just want to get any info that may be helpful to treating mouth rot in Veiled chams. Thank You!
Lyneeso

Last edited:
If there is any accumulation of infection that is not removed it could increase/spread. Its usually necessary to clean out the areas and then put the chameleon on antibiotics after a culture and sensitivity test is done. If you've caught it in time, it might be okay....but I can't say for sure.

So...let me get this right, What you just said in a nutshell is