Friendly Chameleons

NPlant

Good morning. Complete novice here I am afraid. Story so far... my 7 year old has been in love with panther chameleons for as long as I can remember. He has sold lots of his toys on ebay and saved over £100 so far to buy one. We have done all the research on its needs and I have managed to get a very large vivarium which we are getting ready to set up. We have been to numerous reptile centres - all of which have let us handle the chameleons and told us they are friendly lizards and will happily be out on you for up to 45 minutes... Until yesterday! We visited a reptile centre who told us they are very anti-social and do not like being handled and we would be better off with a chinese water dragon! As you can imagine this has really upset my little one...... and now we just don't know which way to turn...... We are not looking to get a chameleon/water dragon until September, so have plenty of time for more research..... your help would be greatly appreciated as to what to do! Many thanks

Hi and welcome to the forum! As a new keeper myself I have learned that chameleon keeping is a hobby vs really having a pet to be able to bond with. Most chameleons have a look but don’t touch me kind of attitude especially veileds lol. I do not own a panther myself but from my perspective they are more docile but that doesn’t necessarily mean they like to be handled. Most chameleons “tolerate” us. I’m sure others will chime in later but these are my 2 cents. :)
We also have a help form you can look at and fill out. I know you don’t have the chameleon yet but husbandry is VERY important. We will be more than happy to give you advice on the set up, supplements, lighting etc.
Chameleon Info:
  • Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon. How long has it been in your care?
  • Handling - How often do you handle your chameleon?