first mouse tomorrow

jdcham

I'm giving my female veiled her first mouse tomorrow...are they ok to feed every once in a while? also what size? im guessing a pinky to start...i need as much info as possible on this because i have never done it before but i know it can be done

they are okay to feed ever now and again. i feed once every month or too. i feed mine Arctic Mice. they come dead, frozen, in little drug-like baggies. you just put them in the bag, in a cup of hot water, and they defrost in 10 minutes. then you just dangle them by the tail and hope your cham eats it

Hi!

Do you have a particular reason for wanting to do this? I suspect you'll get a fair amount of negative feedback on it.

It can be done. There's not a lot of reason to do it though....if your chameleon were seriously underweight yet all over eating, then a pink might be a valuable fat bounce...

But as a regular, rotation in the diet sort of thing, I don't know that there's a positive reason to do it.

i also dont have too much of a variety in her diet lately..just crix and some superworms every now and then

well, if you are feeding one pinkie off a month, or every other month like i do, i'm sure it would be no harm. even if you just really wanna try it once to see if your cham will take it, i doubt it will do any harm.

but as i've learned through keeping a chameleon, as far as husbandry... "if it aint broke don't fix it" ...i started feeding off pinkies about once a month a long time ago, and that works for me, so i won't be changing that. if simple crickets and super worms work for your chameleon, i wouldn't change it. as long as you are gutloading properly, your chameleon is 98% definitely getting a healthy diet

thanks man, check her out in my avatar... that was taken a few hours ago...she's looking better than ever i just want to pack her with some more fat in that tail of hers