First ever F2 Jeweled Chameleon (Furcifer campani)

NHenn

Avid Member
We are super excited to announce the hatching of the very first F2 Jeweled Chameleon (Furcifer campani) here at Canvas. It has been a long journey working with this species and it has always been our goal from day one to produce a second generation in captivity completely removed from the wild. To our knowledge, there hasn't ever been a F2 produced in the US and most likely the world.

OMG YAY!

From the video this baby looks really healthy, I am so excited to see if this little one starts eating right away.

Sorry but what "F2" stand for
I'm new to the chameleon world but I'm curious :)

Hi, F2 is a term that describes the generation the chameleons are. It's not just specific to chameleons though, it's a general term in genetics. It means the children of the children of a set of parents. In this case the parents were wild caught, who had babies (called F1 generation). Those babies of the WC parents then had babies, and those babies are labeled as the F2 generation. Hope this makes sense ^^

Sorry but what "F2" stand for
I'm new to the chameleon world but I'm curious :)

@GamerForce

F2 means generation 2. This baby chameleon is the second generation from the wild.

Meaning the first pair were wild, the second pair was captive bred, this guy is the offspring from them.

All of the captive bred ones, are likely to be inbred as well.. F stands for Filial.

Ok that makes sense but I just read that I long term if they are from one clutch and they mate it will affect their genetic in bad way. So what is the point of doing it.o_O
https://www.chameleonforums.com/threads/f1-f2-f3-f4.26491/