Dont Know What To Do

Metal725

I bought 2 panther eggs from a breeder in my area. I have been closet incubating and they are between 5 and 6 mo ths old. I noticed a couple days ago it shrank and dimpled and let out a clear, sticky liquid. Its been 3 days now and I can see the tip of what im assuming is the face. Its hasnt changed at all since it shrank so my question is, should I cut it open or help it out a bit? Did it burst and isnt ready yet? Im completely new to this so I dont want to do anything drastic or nothing at all and possibly lose the little one. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_61907558969505.jpg
    IMG_61907558969505.jpg
    14.7 KB · Views: 111
If its been 3 days I would open it. Be careful to not remove any yolk sac just incase the baby is still alive. Once you open it keep it in a moist area. I used to use a ringed out paper towel and a Tupperware container with a lid.

Carl

So I couldnt wait anymore and I cut the baby out of the egg. It was fully formed, moving and lifting its head, and has sone really nice patterns. After about 30 minutes, he stopped moving but I can still see his little heart beating in his chest. I put it in a seperate container from the other egg with a moist paper towel. Hoping everything goes ok but not holding my breath.

I hope he makes it! How is the other egg doing?

Carl, Mike, Sandra how do these little ones survive in the wild? I see a lot that have issues just hatching but in the wild don't they have to dig themselves out of the 12" ish deep hole they are laid in after they hatch?

Carl, Mike, Sandra how do these little ones survive in the wild? I see a lot that have issues just hatching but in the wild don't they have to dig themselves out of the 12" ish deep hole they are laid in after they hatch?

This is why they have so many a clutch! Some don't make it out of the soil/egg, some get eaten and some make it into adult-hood (usually the strongest of the bunch) spreading good genetics.