Chameleon unidentified wound on side of body

image.png
image.png
I have a full grown male adult panther that I purchased a few months ago. Upon purchase, he had a birth mark on the side of his body that was a patch that had chromatophore cells permanently flared. (red/yellow in comparison to his green side.) About a month ago, this patch began looking like a scab, and became more tightly packed. And just today, after some shed had gathered around the wound, and it became tighter and more scab-like, it fell off, and under it exposed weird white patches and pink skin, with a divet in the pink skin. I'm not sure what this is and it is concerning me.

Here is the patch first day I got him (on wood under light), a month after (sleeping), and today (fresh wound).

Is it some type of bacterial infection ?
image.png
image.jpeg
image.jpeg

I'm not too experienced with This, but I do know there are some nasty bacterial and fungal infections. I would get him to a vet asap

@kinyonga is it CANV that shows up as a yellow mark first, is highly contagious, and deadly? I believe someone else here on the forums had a nightmare going on with it.

In my chameleons it never showed up as yellow skin like beardies get...in one (a Parsons) there was a grey mark on its knee that looked like it had been a wound that healed which then developed pox like lesions around that mark at first and then all over its body. None of the pox like marks ever developed into lesions that looked like yellow fungus in beardies. The other chameleon had a small blackish mark on its foot and then things developed from there. I'm not 100% sure that the one in this post is CANV but I'm going with a hunch.

Yes...someone did just lose a few of their chameleons to what looked like yellow fungus lesions.

There was also this thread...but no photos and no real confirmation.....
https://www.chameleonforums.com/thr...what-to-do-anymore.158034/page-2#post-1354510

Last edited: