Basement question

Rhino

So I've been wanting a panther chameleon for many months, but I wanted to wait to the dead of winter to see just how cold my basement got and if it's ok for a chameleon to survive. I have rock iguanas and bearded dragons in my basement, but the humidity isn't as important for them and quite honestly they are not as fragile as chameleons. I have been keeping the outside temperature on a daily basis and marking the temperature in my basement as well to see what the difference is. The coldest my basement has been is 60 degrees, so with the proper lighting I do not think that is an issue. However, the humidity has dropped to 20% during the winter.

My question is, if using a misting system (I have never used one of these before), can a chameleon survive the cold winter in my basement?

I think a misting system some live plants and a basking light near the misted leaves it should raise the humidity alot if nothing else u can put a humidifire in the room but get the cool mist one due to the warm mist creats bacteria
o and might want to make sure the chameleon cage isnt overlooking other lizards can cause stress and kill ur chameleon

If that is the lowest overnight temp, then it is fine. If it gets lower than 50, you can always use a ceramic heat bulb. It will provide heat with no light. As for humidity, you may need to increase your mistings during the winter months to accomodate the decreased levels.

Is 60 a night temp? If it drops below 55 (adult panther) then get a space heater. If you get a veiled they can handle temps as low as 50 (and even lower, though I dont recommend it.) Babies need as temp of 60 or higher.

There are several ways to raise humidity. Just do a search.