1st Bioactive - does size matter?

Guppysmom

Im new to chams and bioactive set ups but have been researching for around 4 months. I plan on building my enclosure out before getting my cham. I was super inspired by all the DIY set ups from old cabinets so I've decided to go that route. I bought a curio cabinet in town for $125 before realizing it may be too small. Its 24" wide x 18" deep x 72 tall. It's an octagon shape so its less volume thank id like. I also found a cabinet for $120 but its 4.5 hrs away and I would have to pick up. Its 4x2x7 and made out of cedar. Im debating whether I should just make a starter enclosure with the case I have or if I should just go with the one that I know I won't need to upgrade later on. I was thinking I could divide it into 2 portions and start with half? I appreciate any advice! :)

Attachments

• Screenshot_20201006-130803_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20201006-130803_Chrome.jpg
    64.7 KB · Views: 80
  • Screenshot_20201019-122232_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20201019-122232_Chrome.jpg
    63.9 KB · Views: 81
Yeah I can't pass it up, its such a great deal for something so huge! Just worried that it'll be hard to start out on a large scale. Do you think I should try it out or should I do a partition in the middle and start with one side? Partially just worried my future cham will hide too easily and I won't know if he's sick. Is this even a concern? Lol what should I be worried about doing a larger bioactive? Thinking mainly drainage and feeding my cleanup crew but maybe there's something else I'm missing? I started to read a thread about parasites infecting the cham and then the owner had to redo the enclosure. Is that a real common issue?