whats Edema?

dumbblondie

1 of my chameleons have a bulging neck i looked it up & found edema but it didn't give much info on it how serious is it? & why has it only affected 1 of my chameleons?

gular edema may be due to hypervitaminosis

Can you post a picture?
Can you tell us about your chameleons set-up? (temp, supplements, watering schedule, lighting, etc)

I am not an expert on this, but I believe hypervitaminosis, chronic dehydration, and very old age (in that order) are the three most common causes of gular edema.

Hypervitaminosis means there an excess of vitamins in the animals system, such that its body cannot process (and/or rid itself of) them properly. This can cause all kinds of health issues, including liver and kidney damage. The effects of hypervitaminosis will often be noticeable due to edema (accumulation of fluid between tissue cells), which usually appears as swelling under the neck (gular edema), sometimes swelling of the limbs too. Other symptoms can include weakness, listlessness, poor appetite, and maybe sunken eyes (dehydration from kidney damage). It’s pretty serious.

Over supplementation is the most common cause of hypervitaminosis. The vitamins that most cause problems for reptiles are vitamin A and D3.

If you use vitamin supplement powders, Make sure that the product you’re using does NOT use pre-formed vitamin A. Pay attention to your gut loads too. What’s in that goes into your cham.

There are likely some that will heartily disagree with my statement about Vit A. I’m in the camp that strongly favours beta carotene over pre-formed Vit A, as it is believed Vit A builds up in their system over time. However even so I don’t think very occasional Vit A is going to be an issue (but I do mean occasional, as in a couple times a year only).