What I need for a Panther Chameleon Setup

Everyone,

Hello! I am new to reptiles but have been keeping animals for all of my life. I have lived on a farm for 6 years and have 10 aquariums, along with other animals. I have always been interested in reptiles and am planning to get a panther chameleon. I had a few questions about what I would need. So far this is what I think that I'll need,

- 24x24x48 mesh cage
- Reptisun T5 Ho Terrarium Hood
- Mistking 5th generation
- Panther Chameleon bioactive kit from the Biodude
- Climbing / plants
- Clean up crew
- Chameleon and clean up crew food

Here are my questions:
- I was wondering what kind of heat lamp do I need?
- I am planning to do a bioactive setup, what cultures do I need?
- What do I feed the cultures?
- Do you recommend a glass or mesh cage. I live in California where we don't get any extreme temperatures but not sure if a mesh would be too difficult with not hot outdoor temps.
- Looking at my UVB options, do you recommend a bulb (there is a 2 in one with UVB and heat) or do you recommend a long UVB, similar to an aquarium light?
- I don't live in 80F temps like Chameleon prefer so how do I best keep temps to their preference?
- Can't I just buy a large terrarium first rather than buying a smaller one at the beginning to save money?
- How do I keep the terrarium warm and misty regularly with an Est 65f room?
- Do bioactive enclosures smell poorly?
- Is there anything else that I am not considering or need to get?
Thanks in advance!

Respectfully,
Patrick

Last edited:
Hi Patrick, i too come from an Aquarium background too the arboreal Reptile world.
Mistking is a great purchase, a t5ho uvb is preferred (aquarium like bulb😁) over the two in one bulbs (mercury vapours).