Wasabi and her home.

ashdavisa

I've made a few posts here and there on this forum, but I haven't actually posted much about myself, my chameleon, or her enclosure. I figure it's about time, so I'll start from the top :)

So hi, I'm Ash! I've been keeping various reptiles and amphibians for the past 10 years, inspired mainly by the room of dart frogs and red-eyes my parents kept for the first 5 year of my life. They had a veiled chameleon they'd hatched from an egg, too. I was doomed from the start.

So, January of 2020. I was employed by Petsmart, which... hey, we're all aware of the reputation of chain pet stores. But it was a job, and for the most part, it wasn't too bad. At that time my boyfriend and I already had 6 leopard geckos (we adopted a pair from a negligent owner- guess what happens when a male and female are housed together for 6 years and are then suddenly given their own, suitable space.. we thought we removed all the eggs...) so I was on a strict "please don't bring anything home, please" rule. But then... we got this little lady in:

20200129_103532.jpg
20200129_101310.jpg

And oops, I'm in love.

She was larger than any we had gotten in my time there (thankfully, we didn't have them often. But unfortunately, they were usually tiny). She tried digging herself out of the tiny box she had to be kept in, and it broke my heart. She was so personable. I was scheduled for several days off and I couldn't bear leaving her without the space and attention she needed, so on January 31, she came home with me. My sister suggested the name Wasabi, and it stuck.
I threw together a temporary home for her to stay in using bits and pieces left over from my reed frog paludarium. I had dubia roaches on hand for the leos- she was crazy for them. However, she was not so crazy about the tall man that also lives here.

20200129_205205.jpg
20200129_140339.jpg

her colors of choice when my boyfriend was near... she didn't mind me handling her, though.