urgent help required!!! egypt

lostinegypt

Hi,

i need help!!!! i am a teacher at a british school in cairo egypt. today a parent bought a veiled chameleon into school as a present!!! it was in a carboard box and had been fed on dry cat food!!!!

i was given the chameleon to look after. i have very little knowledge of reptiles and have never owned one before.

I have put the chameleon into a glass fish tank stood upright (so it is tall) put a plant in with some branches, spayed the leaves and put a mesh panel over the open end of the tank to stop it escaping.

I am getting a mesh enclosure made - this can be any size. what size is best??

i have a basking lamp and reptisun uvb lamp from my terrapins tank (i have moved the terrapin outside temporarly so the chameleon can have its tank.)

i also have some reptasol liquid vitamin supplement that my mother bought by mistake for my terrapin.

i live in egypt so i cannot buy anything that you can buy in the uk etc. I am going to mist the leaves and set up a drip water system.

however the main problem is food, in that i have none!!!!!

i do not know where i can buy live insects. i have asked the two small pet shops i have in my city but they dont have them. does anyone know of any suppliers wither in cairo or that will ship to cairo???

what can i feed him on in the meantime. we do have lots of insects here but i am wary of giving him wild insects as pesticide is sprayed into the air outside almost daily.

please help with any advice you can give me, i want to make the best of a bad situation, but am struggling due to living in egypt.

The chameleon is probably wild caught so I would look for insects in your area since you have no other choice. Roaches, crickets,moths, whatever you can find that has no poisons.