Thoughts on underground reptiles

Cort Chams

Im new to the chameleon world but have been waiting to get some for a little over 3 years. I came from the reefing world, now that’s a hard and EXPENSIVE hobby! I still have my tank but I’m looking for another challenge!
The time has come, I’m looking to get a pair of
Rieppeleon brevicaudatus.
Underground reptiles says they should be getting them in in a couple months. If I don’t manage to get a pair at the New England reptile expo, this might be my second option.
What are everyone’s experiences with this company?
Has anyone ordered Pygmies from them before?
Are there any other companies that sell quality pygmies? (I know FL Chams does but it seems like they have been out of stock for quite some time.
Thoughts on Pygmies in general? (Long term plan is to have pairs of lots of species)

Thank you!

I would use the search bar to look for other threads regarding Underground Reptiles. It's a pretty polarizing company from what I've seen. Some people have had success with them, but some people warn to stay away. It's hard to say! If I'm not mistaken, the brevs from Underground Reptiles will be wild caught, though, which means much higher risk for parasites and disease. If this is your first time working with chameleons, I would just be sure to keep that in mind

You should really study a lot about bioactive setups too, and I wouldn't get too ahead of yourself and plan to keep a bunch of species. Of making money off selling offspring is what you are looking for, I wouldn't bet on it.

You should really study a lot about bioactive setups too, and I wouldn't get too ahead of yourself and plan to keep a bunch of species. Of making money off selling offspring is what you are looking for, I wouldn't bet on it.

Hi CJ,