Tail bitten

Shanon12

Hello, I am new to owning a chameleon as I’ve had to take him in from a friend who cannot look after him anymore. He’s a panther chameleon, around three years in age.

The previous owner said that crickets had been eating his tail and that’s why they were scabs there… I just wanted to know if there is anything I can do to help the sores or/and any tips to avoid this… he is now being fed locust instead. (I’ll upload a photo.

Any other general tips Will help, I’ve already swapped out plastic plants for live plants and looking at installing a drip for him.

Thank you.

Attachments

• 55279580-0647-4E0C-8D92-91BF81B2AB33.jpeg
    55279580-0647-4E0C-8D92-91BF81B2AB33.jpeg
    139.5 KB · Views: 31
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    246.9 KB · Views: 24
Hi and welcome to both you and your cute guy!!! I would suggest a husbandry review if you are up for it. It would help make sure everything is just right for him. If you want to, let me know and I’ll share the form for you to fill out.

If the crickets are left in the enclosure with nothing to eat, they will bite. You can leave a small something for them to eat so they don’t bite your guy.

Hello and warmest welcomes!! Bless you for taking this beautiful boy in. ❤️ ❤️ ❤️

A way to avoid crickets from eating at your chameleon is to not leave any in his enclosure overnight. I keep all my crickets in a lunch log or feeder run, and remove all the uneaten ones just before lights go out.

Chameleons are amazing creatures and if you get their husbandry down right they are quite hearty. I am seeing some things that are concerning and need to change with the pictures you have shared already. He looks fairly overweight and I am afraid I am seeing some signs of MBD (which is basically rickets but in reptiles).