Staying at basking spot and darker then usual

D.Wyeth

I’m pretty new to owning a chameleon, and I’ve had mine for a little over 2 months and all has been going really well, he’s been active and pretty light roaming around and eating a good amount. But about a week ago I went up to my cottage so I could spend Christmas there and I brought my panther chameleon up and all was going well until he started staying a darker brown then usual and is staying at his basking spot the whole day. I thought it was just from the travel but he was doing it for about a week. He doesn’t really leave unless he is going to sleep. Then he moves to one of 2 spots which he does every night. He doesn’t move from that spot to eat or drink, I have to dump the crickets up where he is and hope they stay close enough for him to catch. I came back home after about a week because the humidity was in the 40s and his actions were concerning to me as he hasn’t done anything like it before. He also sometimes hangs his mouth open and I read that it means he is too hot and is trying to cool down. He has shed twice and the second time was a day or 2 before I left for my cottage. My family things I’m overprotective of him and they might be right, but any insight would be much appreciated