Species for those with roach aversions

Andee

Chameleon Enthusiast
Im looking into raising roaches for feeders that people who dont like handling roaches/cant handle them or who dont like them but take one for their cham, and was wondering if anyone had a preference?

Andee if you're in it for the long haul, the therea roaches don't even look like roaches lol. Panchlora, maybe gyna, maybe pycnoscelus(surinam are slightly roachier than ember/shadow IMO). There's lots of odd ones out there too, extinct(s conserfarium) are pretty cool.

Unfortunately, most of the roaches that don't look like roaches are either expensive, sensitive, or slow to breed.

It’s the legs…those crazy icky spikey long legs. 😖
I just realized I’ve been keeping my discoid roaches for close to two years! In all of that time, I am yet to actually touch an adult roach with my hands. I can count on my hands how many times I’ve touched one of the babies, which don’t look very roachy. I am not at all fond of roaches or any bugs. Usually I scream and run away when I see a roach...except for my roaches. I’ve actually grown kind of fond of my colony. I love watching them when I feed them and try to take note of their favorite foods and least favorites. Whatever type of roach you get, you may want to invest in at least one or two of these. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07PNG5GJP/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_7?smid=A23BY812APN9IU&psc=1
@jamest0o0 has some great and healthy buggies and super knowledge to get you started on your way to the dark side.

I might be different. As I’ve kept insects and roaches I’ve noticed that I’ve been more confident to handle them. I can pick up a roach with my bare hands and feed it to my little guy lol! Super worms and horn worms are the only ones that still freak me out. I was holding a hornworm for feed to my Cham and it started to bite me. Didn’t hurt super bad but it disturbed me for some reason. I don’t know if I could hold one again 😆