Slowing Horn Worm Growth

yes, I have read about refrigerating them, but I like my milk & beer COLD, so the 'fridge is out of the question.

no, I'm not buying a wine cooler for some stoopid worms! :rolleyes:

My question, that I haven't found the answer to yet, is -
Has anyone tried limiting their light cycle?

I'm still new to this whole taking care of bugs deal.
And if someone had told me two months ago that I would be buying roaches online and spending time each day feeding crickets, various "worms" and roaches, I would have thought them insane.

But, back to topic.
When I get horn worms they are in the cup with the premade food at one end.
Usually a dozen or so in the cup.
They grow faster than I care to feed them all to the new kid.

SO, I'm wondering if cutting the worm's day shorter with fewer daylight hours might slow their growth.
Less light = less eating = less growth??
Has anyone tried this?

Also FYI, if the premade food runs out, horn worms seem quite content eating yellow squash & zucchini.

I put mine on ice packs. Literally one tupperwear holds the two hard plastic packs and then I drop in a second tupperware on top of the ice packs and set the pod in on top so that the pod is not directly touching the packs this way. I cycle them on and off the packs. I was doing 1-2 days on then 1 day off so they don't die. I did have lid with the holes facing up and food down on the tupperwear. Cools to about 55-60 degrees. Worked well for me to slow the growth rate.

I keep them in my basement which has ambient temps around 60-65 in summer, and 55 in winter. That helps a lot. Theyre also almost alwYs in the dark down there, so im not sure how that affects them.