Silly habits

Nancygal

So, I am new to having a Chameleon. Have had my girl, so I've been told since April.
She's doing great, but has some weirdo things she does.
First one is that she absolutely hates getting water on her. No kidding. Not sitting there and spraying her, but when misting if it gets her she puffs up and gets an attitude. To be honest,it's quite funny when she does it. Thus why I call her my drama queen.
She is drinking fine, and oddly enough loves to catch the spray in her mouth though.
Other weirdo thing is she doesn't seem to like any worms. Tried the small meal ones, hornworms, and of course superworms as well. She looked at them and me like I was nuts. Definitely not a hand feeder, she loves to hunt, she is a hunting machine for sure.

have you tried wax worms? or dubia roaches?
No to those. I want one of those worm bowls, but don't get how when she strikes that whatever is in there won't just get knocked out as well and then I will have loose worms!! Yikes. And how the heck do you do the roaches, she's a shy eater. No kidding if she catches me out of the corner of one her eyes trying to watch when she is gonna strike, and she stops. Lol

have you tried cup feeding? I would suggest dubias as a staple in their diet rather than mealworms. Put all the feeders in the cup and that way you can better track where the feeders are and what exactly she eats. I would just place the cup in her enclosure and give her 15 minutes of privacy

Last edited:
Like a shallow cup or like an old sized coffee cup back when they weren't big enough except for a few sips? Lol

" I want one of those worm bowls, "

Not a silly habit, but ...

I'm new to chameleons, VERY NEW, but have always been an idea guy, meaning I over think everything!

For the worms, I found the DEEPEST feeder cup for birds (pet store thing - flat back) that I could find.
Found what I was looking for at the 5th or 6th pet store.