Questions from a newbie with a new male Veiled

jajeanpierre

Chameleon Enthusiast
Yesterday I bought a male Veiled from a pet shop. He looked so magnificent in the cage, I didn't think he deserved his likely fate of poor care and a slow death that awaits most reptiles sold out of a big store like Petsmart.

I have no idea of his age. He weighs 65 grams and is in good flesh and condition. The pet shop said he had been in the store about a month. Assuming he isn't stunted--and nothing about him suggests he has lacked nutrition--how old is he likely to be?

I'm new to chameleons, owning a much younger female Veiled for almost three weeks.

I would send pictures, but I can't figure out how to upload them. I think they are too large and that is why I get the "upload failed" message. (I've asked for help on the photography forum.)

Last night he came out of the box hissing, gaping and all puffed up ready to eat me. This morning he only started a half-hearted gape when I took him out to weigh him. I stopped moving, he closed his mouth and I was able to get him out of the cage and weighed.

I was thrilled to see him snatch up a few crickets this morning even before the lights were turned on and he was still very cold (mid 60s in the room).

I will assume he wasn't fed all that well in the pet store so will be dusting his food with calcium with D3. He has a Reptisun 5.0 plus a basking light. I'll be getting him outside in natural sun on warm days. How many feedings should I add the calcium with D3? I also have some plain calcium. His legs look straight and he seems in really good heath other than being a bit dehydrated. His casque has a bit of a bend on the front edge. Someone suggested it might be from MBD, but I don't think he has that problem.

Just now saw him get his tongue stuck on the edge of a plastic plant pot. I mean really stuck, right out of a cartoon. Can they hurt their tongue? He's snatched up a cricket since he got his tongue stuck is still hunting.