Questions from a complete novice..

Cwhite

Hi there!
I have recently been doing some research about chameleons as they seem like such interesting pets. Despite all the great information on this website and others, there are still a couple of questions I haven't found an answer to. I am currently in Vet school, so a few times a year I go home for a week or so. What do you guys do when you go on vacation? Are there any chameleons that can go without food for that long? And speaking of food, are there other possibilities besides crickets as a staple diet? It just seems like maybe some type of worm would be easier to deal with, but maybe not as nutricious?

Thanks everyone!
Christina

If you go on vacation I would find someone who can give your chameleon food and water...I personally wouldnt recommend going that long without some source of food....crickets I think arethe best staple...You can gutload them with so many different essentials for your chameleon because they will eat almost anything...but variety is key to keeping a happy healthy chameleon

My adult Veiled has gone 3 days without food before. When I leave for vacation, I set up my automated mister machine to provide water and have someone feed my cham when I am gone. I never leave for longer than a week. Especially if whoever I leave with my cham doesn't know much on their husbandry.

To make it easier on the chamsitter, I put my feeders in seperate cups with enough gutload to last them and they are dusted with supplents. I label each cup with a day and cover them up. When the chamsitter feeds them All they have to do is put the cup in the cage. Then the next day, exchange the cup. I make sure my cham is well fed and watered before I leave. I also make sure the cage is spotless, just in case the chamsitter gets too lazy to clean any hard to reach poop. Having the feeders in the cup also makes sure that the feeders don't eat any poop.