Outdoor Set-Up for Newbie Jackson Cham in Hawaii.....please critique!

rj1204

I joined this forum last week and I am a pretty big Repti-Geek. I have plenty of experience in most other reptiles other than Chameleons. After reading for hours on the forums and many care sheets, I finally built my first enclosure which will be an outdoor one. I apologize if I repeat myself so bare with me. Please critique what you see, your input is much appreciated and I am prepared to make changes if necessary.

First off, I live on Oahu, Mililani Mauka town where the temps are usually around 75-82 (high) during the day and upper 50's to lower 60's (low) at night. It usually rains 2-3 times per day and dries up in between rains. Humidity is pretty high and there have been many sightings of Jackson's in my area. Enclosure is 24" x 24" x 48". The wood is Douglas Fir and stained. Wire is 1/4" hardware cloth. I didn't trust the strength (or lack of) of any mesh or screening with my 4 and 6 year old daughters, along with the possible occasion dog or mongoose. I know this size wire may hold some crickets in and some may escape. All hardware cloth is on the outside so the chameleon will not get cut.

Inside the plant is a 3' tall Hibiscus. From the top of the Hibiscus there is about 1 foot of room and I added various tree branches/twigs. The bottom is just the hardware cloth and the plant takes up about 70% of the bottom area. I didn't want to put too many vines/plants in there so the crickets wouldn't have too many hiding places.

I made two separate doors (top/bottom) and they are large enough to get the plant in/out of the enclosure. The mid section just provided more stability and made wedging branches easier.