opinions needed PLEASE!

carol5208

Chameleon Enthusiast
So, Romeo had a little sore or cut which is what I thought it was on the bottom of his back left foot. So I put some neosporin on it and it seemed to be getting better but the problem is he is constantly using his feet so it keeps re injuring it. So I noticed on the right bottom foot now a little sore so I decided not to screw around and got him into the vet today. He thinks it is my chicken wire on my large cage that is causing the "wounds" So we are changing the wire out to coated wire. Anyways, he told me to continue with the neosporin and wants me to put him on Baytril for 15 days. 2cc or whatever the measurement on the shringe and inject a silkworm. My question to all of you is, if there is no infection, which there is not, is the Baytril really necessary and how hard is it on them?. I have never used it before. I just thought that was kinda extreme but maybe not. You guys tell me what ya think! Thanks everyone!

Did you ask why he wanted him on baytril? If there is no infection that seems harsh for a "just to be sure". You are correct that it is hard on them. If you do give it to him do everything you can to keep him drinking. Baytril can cause so major organ damage if they don't get the necessary water to flush out the kidneys.

well that is scaring me now! I should have asked him. i guess I still can but now it is holiday weekend. I thought it was an antibiotic and he said they were not infected. I am kinda torn here now..... I hate to give something that is really not necessary but more of a precaution.