New Veiled Owner

digglesworth

I'm new to owning a chameleon. I got my veiled about 3 days ago and I'm loving it. I'm hoping to learn more about caring for him. We have some reptiles already, but first chameleon. I have him kinda set up so far. I'm getting more stuff in today and picking more supplies up tomorrow.

Here's a pic of Riff Raff.

IMG_0996.jpg

I will be moving him off of plastic plants very soon, these are temporary

I have a small UVB and the red is temporary until the Ceramic heater comes. I will be changing out the small UVB for one that goes across the enclosure. I had these on hand already. It's 70ish in my office at all times so he has warmth all around.

Needs to be at about 80 degrees at basking. T5ho for uvb and he'll eat fake plants cause that's what veiled do and they could die from it

I am upgrading the lamps and the foliage within the week. Most likely this weekend. I checked the temperature where he is basking and it is a bit over 80F. He's good.

Hi and welcome! That’s a little cutie you’ve got there. :) I’d like to be pushy and ask to review all of your care/husbandry. With so very much misinformation out there about chameleons I’d love to help make sure that you have everything just right for your sweet little one. If you’d like to do that, I‘ll need you to answer the following questions and provide pics of your entire enclosure. If you don’t want to do that, I urge you to check out https://chameleonacademy.com/chameleon-basics/ and Neptune the chameleon on YouTube for correct care guidelines. Very glad to have you here.😀

Chameleon Info:
  • Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon. How long has it been in your care?
  • Handling - How often do you handle your chameleon?
  • Feeding - What are you feeding your cham? What amount? What is the schedule? How are you gut-loading your feeders?