New pygmies

c81kennedy

I just got the guys today can anyone tell me the speices and sex . I am new to these guys I currently keep dartfrogs.

pygmy046.jpg

pygmy047.jpg

Can you get a more straight side view of the first one? If it's angled away the tail might look shorter than it is...but it looks pretty female. The second one is 100% female.

This is a male:
full

The tail length is how you tell. Long tails are male, short tails are female:
full

Last edited by a moderator:
I just wanted to say Thank You again for the info im really ecited after seeing these little jewels in person. They ate fruitflies as soon and I got home. I think thats a good sign. Any advice on where I can get a male?

backwater reptiles, and exoticpetslv has them right now. Ataraxia here on the forum is getting some too

Yeah I got mine from backwater reptiles. They must have made a mistake or not good as sexing these little guys. Would a trio be ok in a 12x12x18

Yeah I got mine from backwater reptiles. They must have made a mistake or not good as sexing these little guys. Would a trio be ok in a 12x12x18

No, that would be too crowded. I feel that my pair I have in that size viv should have more room honestly. Putting in another one would be too much imo.

Hmmm I wasnt planing on 3 Iv got an 18x18x24 that im keeping a breeding pair of O.Bastimentos dartfrogs I may be able to move them to the 12x12x18.

I was told that was the size to get for a trio. That's why I bought it...

12x12x18" is 11.2 gallons. The rule of thumb is at least 5 gallons for every pyg. So that only room for two pygs. I can tell you that I think an adult pair is pushing it in the size. I have one, and I wish I had a bigger one for them...

Okay. That's good to know for the future.....I don't know what I'll do with that then. I wanted my future 1.2 groups all in the same thing. Lol. Im weird with things matching...