New Panther Chameleon

lou8706

Hey everyone. I am new to chameleons, but not reptiles, and I just got a young panther chameleon (almost 3 months) from a local breeder. He is in a 36h by 24w by 24d screen cage with 2 reptiglo bulbs (5.0 and 2.0) and a 75 watt basking lamp. I have a large umbrella plant in the cage along with some pothos and dracaena. I am curious if this set up is adequate, and i also have a couple question.
First, the chameleon has not moved much since i got him. I have had him for a little less than a day now. He has remained gripped onto a branch of the umbrella plant under his basking light. Is this normal since he is getting used to the cage or could he be too cold?
Second, he has not eaten anything yet. I have tried handfeeding him some crickets but he just turns away. I also put a few in a cup and stuck it in his tree, but he hasn't touched them either. Just curious if this was normal for the first day or not.
Lastly, i set up a dripper on the tree he was on. He would stick his toungue out and lap the air, but did not bend down and drink the droplets (at least not while i ws around). Again, is this normal.
Thanks for any replies, I just want to make sure i am doing everything right.

Hi :) Congratulations on your new chameleon. You seem to have given him a pretty good start and your concern and questions are always good to see before a problem starts.

The cage size may be a little big for your baby, but not overly so. He probably isn't eating or drinking well yet because he is stressed out from being introduced to his new home.. and his new owner peering in at him every few minutes :D Try to give him some space. He will come around in a couple of days. A lot of chameleons don't respond to hand feeding well.. at least few of mine do, though I usually prefer to interact with mine the least amount possible. This is a personal preference. Let a few crickets loose in his cage and see if he goes after them.