New keeper

Gloriawood

Chameleon Enthusiast
Hi! I am new to this, so please don’t be too harsh! I have wanted a chameleon for quite some time. A student of mine was rehoming hers and I got him. I have had him about a month and have done research previously and I continue to do so. I know his cage is too small and I have a larger one in the works. There were some other issues that I deemed to be more important that I was taking care of first. He was kept with a compact uvb bulb, did not have supplements and was fed mostly meal worms. I have changed all of this already.

He was starting to shed on his casque when I got him and it seemed to be taking a very long time. The past day or so he has shed his tail and his face.

Basically what I am wanting to know is if I am doing things correctly and what I need to change.

Chameleon Info:

• Your Chameleon - male veiled will be 2 in august. I have had him about a month.
  • Handling - not often at all. I have handled him once, maybe twice.
  • Feeding - Dubia roaches, hornworms, occasionally wax worms. He was previously fed everyday but I am working on switching to every other day.
  • Supplements - calcium without d3 every feeding and multivitamin twice a month. See photos.
  • Watering - misting twice a day and a dripper
  • Fecal Description - was watery when I first got him. Has gotten firm and dark with mostly white urates. Occasionally some orange.
  • See above.

Cage Info:
  • Cage Type - screen, I am aware it is too small
  • Lighting - 60 wt heat bulb and t5 5.0. Both 12 hours on 12 hours off basking branch 8 inches below bulbs.
  • Temperature - 70-80 daytime with about 85 basking. 60 lowest overnight.
  • Humidity - this on place where I know I’m having trouble. Humidity stays around 30% I have added plastic to the sides of the cage to help at night but it doesn’t seem to be doing much.
  • Plants - all fake plants. Plan on getting live ones soon.