New Baby Veiled Chameleon not eating

Thorcita

got a female baby veiled chameleon. It's my first time. I got it a reptile place and they told me "they didn't need a lot of care", but I went ahead and did my own research. I focused a lot on the humidity, giving it 3 sources, a mister twice a day, a fogger on and off at night and a dripper on and off (because it was flooding my enclosure). I have all live plants (except for a leave-less vine and I only just know introduced a fake plant only near the door for more privacy. UVB light and Basking light with thermometers in several areas.

I got her last Saturday (exactly a week ago). In this time I saw her pee and poop once. My concern is that she is not eating regularly. I have small mealworms, small crickets and waxworks in case she is really picky, but the bugs remain in the bowl. Handfeeding doesn't seem to be the way to go at all. I THINK a cricket or two might have been eaten? Or maybe they are hiding. How can I make sure she is eating or why is she not eating? Shall I worry? Do they need more time to get used to their enclosure?

I must add that yes, I picked her up 2 times, because I needed to rearrange something in the enclosure and I didn't want to risk her being hurt. The handling was minimum and then back to her enclosure. She also doesn't move much. Sometimes she does, suddenly she is near the basking light and that's cool, but the spends all day there even till the lights go out. Maybe she goes to another branch and she can be there for what seems like days. Is this normal?

Something I started noticing is that the skin is starting to crack, could it be she's not eating because she is shedding?

I would love any kind of input from your experience with baby vailed chameleons.

Thank you

Attachments

• WhatsApp Image 2021-09-07 at 9.16.21 PM.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-09-07 at 9.16.21 PM.jpeg
    113 KB · Views: 232
  • IMG_4724.jpg
    IMG_4724.jpg
    336.6 KB · Views: 126