My camillion hates me!!!

Hi y'all, I'm very excited I actually have people to talk too that can help me. My husband thinks I over react to everything when it comes to "Camie" that's my male 8 month old veiled camillion. I studied alot about camillions before I even attempted to purchase one. I've always wanted one but I thought they were extremely delicate reptile and I would be devastated if anything happened to it especially because of something I did wrong. First I was told the Camillion was a female and later figured out it was actually a male. Which I heard were more aggressive. I know they are not the type of pet that likes to be held. But I was told with lots of patience they can be tamed. I can't even open his cage without a attitude or him trying to sway over and try to bite me! He opens his mouth at me not in the basking area but when I come in the room. He will usually turn a darker green and will get polka dots all over! I try not to even get my hands close to him so I've been trying to take him out of his cage once a week for a deep cleaning but he is scary acting like he is waiting to strike me when he gets a chance. So I usually get him out with a long perch stick and I can cohurse him up on it. Then he sits in his own big special tree I have for him by the window until I'm done. Will he ever warm up to me? Do I need to try and hand feed him first? I dont want to stress him out and he gets sick and dies. Can someone help???? I just put him in a Extra Lg deluxe Led screen cage from repti. How often can I hold or perch my camillion without stressing him? Am I going about it the right way? Or do I give up and accept it that I may never be friends with my lil guy and he may never tame???

I'm not sure any of us here have ever kept a camillion. You're a pioneer on the forefront of camillion husbandry.