My bioactive build

Tony_S

Chameleon Enthusiast
As some of you know I’ve been researching and acquiring parts for almost 3 months now. I’d like to start off with saying thank you to all those that helped me pick out stuff and answered my dumb newbie questions.

Here is my blank slate. I purchased an Exo Terra 36x18x36 terrarium.

I’ve cut out cardboard to the demensions of the glass to test fit my parts before I start the foaming process. The two small pieces of cardboard on the bottom is the inside corners and the right branch will be going directly left into the center of the enclosure. The camo feeder cup will be removable for cleaning and maintenance on it.

When foaming in the sticks you will need to use tape or something to hold them up so they don’t just fall into the foam. And keep in mind things will shift a bit as the foam cures. Can wait to see how it turns out.

When foaming in the sticks you will need to use tape or something to hold them up so they don’t just fall into the foam. And keep in mind things will shift a bit as the foam cures. Can wait to see how it turns out.
Thanks for the tip. I think I'll use fishing line also to help hold them in place

Build day one

I got my pots ready with duct tape and clear drainage tubes. I’m using 3 pots stacked together during the foaming stage to keep the cheap plastic pots from collapsing during the foam curing process.

I then used a circular saw to trim the edges of the cork flats to make them sit closer to the glass since they were more like cork rounds. I ordered smalls but all of them are 13-15” long.

Next I test fitted everything in the glass. I decided to use the large driftwood in the right corner instead of the center top since it was going to make about a 9” shelf that would prevent any light from getting to the plants down below in the substrate layer. The blue tape is where the substrate layer is going to be. It is will be sloping higher towards the back of the enclosure.