misting...

aaron1

sorry guys im a complete novice...any tips on misting?i just used a bottle spray every now and again...

You're fine to use a manual spray bottle by hand. Use WARM water, a fine spray, spray the cage and leaves rather than directly at /on the chameleon. If this is the only method of providing water (if you are not also dripping) or if this is how you are raising ambient humidity, you'll want to do this several times a day for 5 or more minutes at a time. Hopefully you will observe the chameleon drinking off of leaves etc. Ensure branches dry between waterings. Drain excess water (so that it does not harbour bacteria, etc).

:):):D:)One thing i need to tell you.
If your using screen caging you will need to spray more because the humidity dose not keep as much. But other than that good luck:D:):D:)

I use a screen. I have taped a black garbage back to the backside and underside of my cage to keep water from marking walls and soaking into the ground.

I use a screen. I have taped a black garbage back to the backside and underside of my cage to keep water from marking walls and soaking into the ground.

This is a good idea that i think we should start telling more beginners about. A lot of us use this method of trash bags / shower curtains to keep from having mold grow on the walls.

You might want to invest in a pesticide sprayer in the future. make sure you purchase a new one and never ever put pesticide in it. only water. it will make misting easier and keep you from looking like Popeye.

I hand spray too....