Meet Lorne!

Exyst

Hey Everyone! This is Lorne. The Store said it was a male, and I have no other knowledge of confirming for now. He’s a 10-Week old Veiled Cham and also my first reptile! I figured I’d just post to get a feel for what I have done correctly, or anything I may need to fix/change. I’ll be asking several questions as I’m new to caring for a Cham.
His enclosure is a reptibreeze (16x16x30) vertical terrarium. I struggled quite a bit to keep humidity trapped within the enclosure, so I bought some aquarium backing and closed off the left, back, and right sides. The top and front is still exposed to allow proper airflow. I have to keep the temperature in the household fairly comfortable; I have a one-year old whom doesn’t cooperate well with the heat. So I installed a dripper that drips constantly throughout the day, and that didn’t maintain Humidity as well I thought it would. I had moss for substrate in the bottom of the enclosure thinking it would trap humidity further in the lower levels of the enclosure, but I didn’t account for how many crickets were hiding underneath it nor the bacteria that could have started to grow. It’s all been removed since that discovery. (Through this experimenting, the humidity levels remained at a constant 40-45%, which I knew weren’t sufficient for the Cham) I’ve since installed a fogger as well, which has kept the humidity levels at a solid 50-60% constantly. I still spray twice a day (morning & night) to keep the humidity high enough at times to allow him to shed.