Isopod die off... an ideas?

Lathis

Chameleon Enthusiast
I've been breeding orange spanish isopods for several months as a feeder. I mist about every morning, depending on dryness of soil, and I provide greens and fruit/veggie scraps regularly.

This morning, I noticed all the isopods were out in the light and thought that was odd. I misted them lightly and went to work. This evening, I found that I had a massive die off. The few stragglers are slow and have droopy antennae - I don't hold a lot of hope for them.

The only thing I have done differently is I offered acorn squash instead of butternut and have been offering persimmon bits. I always wash everything, but that's no guarantee, I guess.

Any ideas on what I did wrong?

Blarg. They were doing so well, too.

Last edited:
this is just a thought.... is it ALL sizes, or just the adults - it may be if its mostly adults, and they were close in age, they were old ? or maybe they are over crowded ?

this is just a thought.... is it ALL sizes, or just the adults - it may be if its mostly adults, and they were close in age, they were old ? or maybe they are over crowded ?

Seems to be adults, but dozens and dozens at once? That doesn't seem like a natural life cycle to me. I've had a few die here and there but never a wave of loss like this. Even the smaller ones that are still alive are sluggish - not quick to hide.

I have them in a 11x17 sterilite container with a screen lid. The substrate is about 2" of organic potting soil, plus bark bits and leaf litter to hide under and maintain humidity. I switched them to new soil about 2 months ago. They don't seem over crowded...

I'm going to pick out the dead ones and try to salvage the colony, but sheesh, I wonder what I did wrong.

do you have a lid on the container?

Modified with screen in the center, see photo. The second photo is what I found when I lifted the leaf litter to mist. All dead or dying.

Attachments

• WP_20131211_001.jpg
    WP_20131211_001.jpg