Is my veiled chameleon looking for a place to lay her eggs?

andre_24

Hey everyone,
I’m new to owning a chameleon, and I got one last week in a reptile show. I’m pretty sure Moe (chameleon) is a female as she doesn’t have the bump on her hind legs. She’s been a pretty dark color ever since I got her, and I believe it’s stress but i might be wrong. She recently started shedding, but what has been bothering me is that she’s climbed down to the bottom of her enclosure a couple times. Is that normal? Or does that mean she wants to lay eggs?

She’s still pretty young, I asked the breeder and he said she’s almost a year old, I don’t see any bumps on her belly indicating that there are eggs though. So what do you guys recommend I do in this situation?

Hello and welcome! I would get a laybin in asap. If you don’t know how to make one I’ll attach one used by many here that works well. It could be stress but if she is that old I suspect she could be trying to lay.
I’m no expert so I’m sure someone will chime in. I’ll also post the husbandry form for you to fill out if you’d like to ensure this beauty is set for success. 😊

Attachments

• IMG_3360.png
    IMG_3360.png
    289.1 KB · Views: 42
Chameleon Info:
Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon. long has it been in your care?How
Handling - How often do you handle your chameleon?
Feeding - What are you feeding your cham? What amount? What is the schedule? How are you gut-loading your feeders?
Supplements - What brand and type of calcium and vitamin products are you dusting your feeders with and what is the schedule?
Watering - What kind of watering technique do you use? How often and how long to you mist? Do you see your chameleon drinking?
Fecal Description - Briefly note colors and consistency from recent droppings. Has this chameleon ever been tested for parasites?
History - Any previous information about your cham that might be useful to others when trying to help you.

Cage Info: