Introducing roaches

LizardLover0261

So I can't get my young veiled to eat roaches. He will eat crickets, meal worms and wax worms without issue. It's not too big of an issue if he doesn't eat them, I'm not gonna force feed him. I would just like to be able to feed him roaches as they are more nutritious, keep longer as they are not cannibalistic. I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions on how I could introduce dubia roaches to my little veiled. Or any other highly nutritious feeders that are easy to keep and desired by my veiled.

I hope someone on here will answer your question. In Canada we can't use roaches...so I have no experience with it.

Odds are you will need a feeder cup with a variety of feeders in it and hop for a few misses. Mine would not each roaches till he was almost an adult. It seems to be a trend that young ones will not eat them.

Also Dubia are fairly lethargic, you have more movement with Orange Head, and Red Runners than Dubia. The feeding cup should have a climbing grid. Cup picture and roach care sheets on our webpage, fullthrottlefeeders.com.

CHEERS!

Nick

I am feeding a tiny rescued veiled dubia. She was on crickets when she arrived, but now is converted to dubia and small superworms. I cup feed only! Nothing I cup feed is able to Ever get out! No lose roaches in my home. Put about 3 or 4 small dubia in a cup, add a couple crickets. First remove 1 leg from each cricket, so they stay in the cup, but move around. Within 4 or 5 days you will no longer need to add crickets.
I use orange head roaches for my parsoni, Never would I offer a full sized one to a veiled. I would also not use red runners as they are escape artist. Just my way of doing things. Hope it helps