I need a lot of help!

Snow994

I have a female and male veiled. The female has lumps in her belly and has for 7 weeks and 2 days now. I tried to mate them but she turns black with orange and green spots. I've heard this means she is gravid. Do I need a lay bin? Is gravid and receptive the same thing?

Please explain the terminology to me I'm pretty new to this and there isnt much info online that I can find.

Can someone provide pictures of a gravid & recessive female? I just need help with the terminology because no one has really explained it to me. Thanks guys!

Gravid means that they are pregnant, so that would mean they’re carrying eggs. Receptive means that’s they’re ready to mate. I’m not sure about colors and stuff as I don’t have a female. However, if she is gravid, you will need a laying bin.

Whether mated or not, your chameleon produces eggs. The lumps you are seeing are eggs. You need to make a lay bin ASAP and keep it in her enclosure. This will show you how to make one. https://www.chameleonforums.com/threads/laying-bin-set-up-educational-video.77225/
To avoid having to guess when my girls are ready to lay and the stress of moving the bin in/out, I keep the bin as a permanent part of their enclosures. Each chams receptive and gravid colors and markings are different. Mine when receptive show all of their colors and patterns and get very restless...constantly pacing their enclosures and literally climbing their walls. When gravid they pretty much look the same as receptive, except their dots are more pronounced and they get plump and a bit lumpy. Not sure if they’ll help, but here’s one of my girls.
Normal
B788DE1A-AAE6-4D2B-8BAD-56D84C3BCA5B.jpeg

Receptive
883B56CB-8ACE-408C-A3FF-87128711DE12.jpeg

Gravid
90CC26B4-ADA3-4E8D-B672-0302197299AD.jpeg