How much electricity

KenjiK

Hey,

I'm new to chameleons and i'm just wondering how much having a chameleon will increase my electricity bill.

With one cage setup, and one mistking setup.

does anyone know how much it will increase monthly bills by?

just wondering due to the heating, lighting and watering intervals.

thanks

Hey,

I'm new to chameleons and i'm just wondering how much having a chameleon will increase my electricity bill.

With one cage setup, and one mistking setup.

does anyone know how much it will increase monthly bills by?

just wondering due to the heating, lighting and watering intervals.

thanks

I have 2 cages and a mist king and I think I've seen a 45 cent to dollar jump ;);)

Any additional uses of electricity will raise your bill.
Let's say you use a 60 watt heat bulb and another 20 watts for your UV bulb. That is 80 watts, if left on for 10 to 12 hours, that will be like leaving a light in the house on all day. I am not sure how much it will raise the electric bill, but I am sure it won't be that much.
When you start having 10 or more cages, the added electricity is very noticeable on your bill.
Lance

Semicolon fail.

I haven't noticed any significant jump in the electricity bill.

I do have a meter that I could check if/when I get really bored, though.

You're not going to get two answers the same. The cost of electricity is different all over the place. People heat/cool their homes to different degrees.

Add up the wattages used by your equipment, ask your electricity provider what the cost per watt or kilowatt (equal to one thousand watts) is and do the math.

I'm in the UK, so my pricing is really different to you guys, but I run roughly 200w in heating for 13 hours each day (so under 3 kilowatthours) and it costs like 25p a day. So not much at all! :D

Semicolon fail.

Not actually. It's not a use you'd learn about in a high school English class though.