How does a newbie find a reputable breeder?

JayceOhio

Reading this forum has convinced me to avoid the pet stores. Thank you all for that. The website sponsors don't currently have any juveniles available. I found a website, cbreptile.com, that looks good and seems to be saying all the right things. But, how do you really know? When we got our dog, AKC and local breed associations really helped with making an educated choice. With a chameleon it feels a lot more like rolling the dice and hoping for the best. Is there a national association? A way for a breeder to be certified? Would greatly appreciate any advice you all can offer. Thank you!

People seem to think highly of Kammerflage, though I don't have any experience with them.
Thank you. Unfortunately, only future females available at Kammerflage. As a beginner, I am not going to try to breed. And Kammerflage's available females come from such beautiful and colorful bloodlines, it seems a waste to not have them responsibly bred. The colors of those chameleons are truly stunning.

Welcome to the forums, I don’t recommend cbreptiles. Check the classifieds here on the forums.
https://www.chameleonforums.com/forums/chameleons-for-sale.47/
Jannb - I know you are extremely highly regarded here as a source of knowledge and as a breeder. So, I will cross them off the list. Not be argumentative, but hoping to learn, what has put you off cbreptiles? I am trying to understand how to distinguish between breeders. Kammerflage is well regarded here. As a beginner, looking at their website and cbreptiles website and it seems to me they both driven by a philosophy of responsible breeding and caring for the animals. Is it just something you need to learn over the years?