How do chameleons in the wild survive without supplements?

suprdude

Avid Member
Just curious, what are captive chameleons missing that they need daily supplements when wild chameleons basically eat the same diet? I'm a newb, so I'm probably missing the obvious.
Thanks!

The amount of all these calcium and multivitamin supplements in the wild is crazy. In the wild, chameleons eat hundreds of different bugs and those bugs take in tons of different natural supplements based on their natural environment. Chams in captivity are fed a fraction of those bugs and most only get captive bred crickets and some worms. Basically just supplementing to replace what they would be getting, but it's hard to replicate. I hope I worded this alright o_O

Im still not convinced. Calcium is a poison to "most" bugs. Aka Mr plant uses it for a bug deterrent. Maybe they natrually dust themselves with dirt that has a bit of calcium? Is there a secret snail population everywhere? Does God come down and give each cham a silky every morning and we just dont see it?

Or is it something else like natty lighting destroys enough phosphorus that the wee amount of calcium in the bug evens out the calcium to phosphorus ratio?

I believe it was discussed in another thread but bugs absorb UV Ray's from the sun, im not sure how that makes them more nutritious but chams also eat alot of bees in the wild which are typically carrying the pollen which has alot of nutritional value and they probably get the rest from the wide variety available in wild.

I believe it was discussed in another thread but bugs absorb UV Ray's from the sun, im not sure how that makes them more nutritious but chams also eat alot of bees in the wild which are typically carrying the pollen which has alot of nutritional value and they probably get the rest from the wide variety available in wild.