HELP! Surprised With an Egg

theresaintucson

The photo is of my ambanja, Peach. It was taken a few months ago.
This morning I found an egg at the bottom of her cage. She has never been mated. I quickly put together an egg laying bin (thanks to Dez' video!) and put it back in her cage. I am a total newbie to this egg laying thing. How many eggs can be in a first clutch? Does the number vary if the panther is a virgin or no? Do I leave her alone now for a few days, including feeding her?
Help! I don't know how professional breeders do this and my hat is off to you all!

Attachments

• P6010012.JPG
    P6010012.JPG
    192.5 KB · Views: 88
first step-
BREATHE!. lol.
second step- good job on the egg bin. though you should have had it in with her the whole time.

females can aly eggs with our without being mated. and there is no set number they can lay. its based on how much you feed and her basking temps.

so, it can be anywhere from 20 eggs to 100, though the norm is around 30-60.

now, you want to leave her alone. mist and feed her without her seeing you!

if she sees you while she is digging, she might stop, and if she stops, she can become egg bound.

the fact that she dropped an egg, means she shoudl start digging soon.

you want to watch her, without her seeing you!

I knew it I knew it I knew it--I meant to put together that bin weeks ago! Thank goodness I'm a gardener, so I had plenty of pots and organic potting soil at hand though!
She's only eating 4 crickets and/or 4 superworms now. Basking temp is 80 degrees.
Do I cover her cage so that it's totally dark now?
Thanks for your help!

I knew it I knew it I knew it--I meant to put together that bin weeks ago! Thank goodness I'm a gardener, so I had plenty of pots and organic potting soil at hand though!
She's only eating 4 crickets and/or 4 superworms now. Basking temp is 80 degrees.
Do I cover her cage so that it's totally dark now?
Thanks for your help!