Experiences Keeping Juvenile Parson’s?

Carrillxxp

Hey Everyone!

Brand new to the forum but not entirely new to Chameleon keeping. I’ve been wanting to purchase a Parson’s for quiet some time now - I have started to contact folks trying to find a new pet (with no intention to ever breed). It’s definitely been process; finding an Orange Eyed hasn’t been easy!

Truthfully, this would be my first time with Parsonii and I wanted to get everyone’s thoughts on keeping a juvenile? I want to support others in the hobby but am hesitant to make such a large purchase if it’s incredibly difficult to raise them young (1-5 months).

As I said, this would be strictly my pet/baby so I want to do everything I can the right way.

Let me know!

Thanks,

Ryan C.K.

Hi Ryan,
For what I know (and I’m not experienced), Parson juveniles will leave the breeders not before 6 till 8 months. And they’re a bit harsher in the beginning to adapt, at least we 3 (@crosscutts @Jpeff) have experienced this. To adapt, I mean, before they eat every kind of feeder (they’re picky in the beginning) or got their drinking regime and so on. They’re like most chameleons, but I feel like they’re a bit more stress sensitive or I’m more stressed with them. Still a beautiful chameleon to work with and if you can get one go for it, but be prepared that everything is at least doubled (price, feeding, setup) in comparison with other chams.

Here’s my journey with a OE https://www.chameleonforums.com/threads/new-cb-oe-parsons-keeper.186523/

Hi Ryan,