Egg Laying Bin Difficulties

Winter8Lillian

Hi and thanks in advance for any help you can provide. This is my first time owning a chameleon and she is now gravid (she's shown the blue and yellow colors, been fussy, has refused food, and has been digging at her cage floor). I put an admittedly small (about a foot deep) egg laying bin in her enclosure when I got her a few months ago so that she would have that as an option and she also has a large plant in her enclosure with enough room to possibly lay her eggs in if she feels like it, but she hasn't chosen either of these options, so I filled a 18 gallon tub with moist playsand and put her in there this morning (around 9). It's been almost three hours and it seems like the only thing she's doing is trying to get out of the tub (judging by the sounds because I read that privacy when laying is important so I'm not looking at her). I just wanted to see how long I should leave her in the tub. I don't want to leave her in there for too long if she's just going to hurt herself by continually trying to crawl out. But I don't want to take her out if it's normal for them to do this and then dig and lay eggs. Please let me know if you have any advice or need any other information from me.

IMG_20200414_121445_128.jpg

Attachments

• 20200404_072031.jpg
    20200404_072031.jpg
    257.3 KB · Views: 109
i would lay a UVB light across the top of the bin so she has some light and maybe even add a heat light. I would add a branch or plant in the bin too but make sure she can't dig under the plant pot of you leave it potted and make sure she can't get to the lights and burn herself. Make sure the sand is just moist enough to hold a tunnel too.