Effects of Over supplementation

Pilotman800

Very simple question here.

What are the effects of over supplementation? If you're supposed to use calcium pretty much every day, how do you over supplement? By dusting the crickets TOO much?

I'm new to chameleons, but I know in other reptiles calcium usually isn't the issue when it comes to oversupplementation, but D3 and vitamin A can cause problems in large amounts. Too much vitamin A can cause skin problems (and more serious things) and too much D3 is bad for kidneys and calcifies things.

If you search hypervitaminosis in a scholarly database (or google scholar) you can find some pretty interesting research on the subject.

One of the first signs is swelling around the neck.

I've talked with some people about supplemental D3 overdose and it seems that too much D3 causes some kind of problem with the hind legs losing control/mobility/strength of grip.

I was at a reptile convention earlier this year and they had terrible well water, really hard. All 15 of my young panther chams had some swelling in the neck after the 2 days was done lol. As soon as I got home the swelling was gone after a day or so of using reverse osmosis water.

Another surefire sign you've got too much supplements in the diet is salt crystals forming around the nostrils. They will excrete excess salts and minerals through the nostrils.

Other than that, the other signs are internal and would require a vet visit. This would include looking at the kidneys and bloodwork.

I would suggest reading each article I cited to get the whole picture.

Signs of Hypercalcemia- (high serum calcium)...
"Higher intake may lead to conditioned deficiencies of trace minerals combined with high- fat diet, formation of calcium soaps in the digestive tract".

Signs of Hyperphosphatemia- (high serum phosphorus)...
"calcification of the heart and kidney, bone resorption, and secondary nutritional hyperparathyroidism".