easiest chameleon to keep?

fishman

in your opinion, what is the easiest chameleon to keep? i'm fairly new to chameleons, and was wondering.

-tyler

I'd say the senegal is pretty good. Alotta people say that veileds are but, they require more humidity and heat witch makes it hard to keep higher humidity levels. They will also tell you a panther but agian, they are hard to keep and they are expensive. If you can provide the levels needed for a panther or veiled then go ahead. I found senegals are cheap and have less to care for. You should just ask more questions and see what you get.

yeah, i really like the looks of the veilds. i want to make a home made cage, does anyone have any pictures of their homemade enclosures? thanks

-tyler

Hello fishman, welcome to the chameleon forums :)

From the few chameleon species I have kept, I would have to say the Veiled chameleon is more forgiving. However, keeping a chameleon is not easy. They are expensive and require daily care and monitoring.

A good place to do some research is the Chameleon News website. There are good articles on chameleon husbandry and the costs of keeping a chameleon.

Some cage plans can be found here: chameleon cage plans.

I would agree with Brad that Veiled chameleons make the best beginners chameleon. I would always recommend a male sub adult Veiled. Having said that, no chameleon species is easy to keep and Veiled chameleons are prone to MBD. Females live a much shorter life than males and can experience problems such as egg binding. Laying eggs seriously threatens their lifespan too.

Fishman,