CITES permit in Texas

Aggie0486

I was just on the phone with my mom. She owns a veiled chameleon just like I do. Her city manager told her that all chameleons/reptiles in the country need to have CITES permits and paperwork. Any info on this would be helpful. We will be purchasing Cham #2 next month and want to be prepared with this new info. Definitely need to get it done for my lil guy as soon as possible if it is necessary. Shouldn’t the pet stores be informed on the permits if they are needed for the animals?!?!

(Pic for cuteness!)

Attachments

• 4EE16F21-65A2-4DBB-AE78-0C9C49428C70.jpeg
    4EE16F21-65A2-4DBB-AE78-0C9C49428C70.jpeg
    165.1 KB · Views: 220
I'm not an expert, but from my time on here I can tell you that's not true. CITES regulates which species can be exported from certain countries (typically in Africa), and to import those species you need permits. However, veileds, panthers, Jacksons, and the rest of the regular species that you see on here do not need permits. There may be certain regulations which vary by state, however there is nothing set country-wide. I can speak for Florida when I tell you that this state is pretty much anything goes :D

I'm not an expert, but from my time on here I can tell you that's not true. CITES regulates which species can be exported from certain countries (typically in Africa), and to import those species you need permits. However, veileds, panthers, Jacksons, and the rest of the regular species that you see on here do not need permits. There may be certain regulations which vary by state, however there is nothing set country-wide. I can speak for Florida when I tell you that this state is pretty much anything goes :D

Which is why Florida has so many intrusive species!