Building a Special Needs Cham Enclosure - All advice welcome!

MrsM

Avid Member
Hello everyone!
I have a special needs
panther chameleon named Scary Terry. I am new to this and need your help.
He is shown here at the vet with an upper respiratory infection, and I think he got it because I do not have the right set up to support his needs!
I know I can not be the only cham owner that needs to create an enclosure that is safe for chams that could fall or get stuck. I need all the help I can get.
I am an art teacher, and summer break is coming. I want to create the perfect enclosure for this little guy- and I can be very creative. I have more creativity than cash, so wherever I can make something instead of buying will help.

About my chameleon:
Terry came to me a couple weeks ago with a curve in his spine from a fall with a previous owner that healed improperly. His calcium is stable, and his bones are good- just crooked.
Terry moves the most on turf. He can walk on a semi flat surface 6 steps or so and then topples right or left. He gets excited to move outside on flatter surfaces. On vines, he often flips over by accident or grabs his own back leg thinking it is a vine. If the vines are closer together, it is better. Bigger vines are better.
His back legs are the biggest issue. Terry will fall off of vines if they are narrow and weak, and he will often try to move and miss, then fall. It makes him defensive and angry to others to feel like he can not move fast, so he does not like handling. Still, I have to do it to feed him and move him around if he is stuck. I want to reduce my need to handle him and make him more independent.