baby panther chameleon napping during day

kogodogo

hi there, i just got a juvenile panther chameleon yesterday. this is my first time owning a reptile, but after years of doing research i figured i would be able to handle him.

he was doing fine yesterday when he first arrived, but today i noticed him near the bottom of his cage, and he spent most of the day napping on and off. i was able to feed him a few crickets, but when i tried to give him a second helping just now he looked at them, but didn’t want to eat any.

i found another forum with someone having a similar problem, and they were able to help by replacing the uvb light. i got an exo terra uvb 100 light earlier today since they recommend that, and it seemed to help at first. but now he’s back to closing his eyes.

he moved back up to a basking spot, but i’m still a bit worried. this might be nothing, but i don’t want to take any chances since this is my first time with a cham.

his basking area is at 80 degrees right now, and i’ve misted twice today. he has lots of foliage, some live and some fake, and even has some natural sunlight from a nearby window.

any tips on what might be happening / how to help ?

hi there, i just got a juvenile panther chameleon yesterday. this is my first time owning a reptile, but after years of doing research i figured i would be able to handle him.

he was doing fine yesterday when he first arrived, but today i noticed him near the bottom of his cage, and he spent most of the day napping on and off. i was able to feed him a few crickets, but when i tried to give him a second helping just now he looked at them, but didn’t want to eat any.

i found another forum with someone having a similar problem, and they were able to help by replacing the uvb light. i got an exo terra uvb 100 light earlier today since they recommend that, and it seemed to help at first. but now he’s back to closing his eyes.