ambilobe panther eye infection. need help.

growitbig

My roommate has ambilobe panther male with an eye issue we cant identify and dont know how to fix. Please, any help would be greatly appreciated. Im pretty new to chameleons myself, but i love them thus far. Pictures have been uploaded. Its the left eye, its white and keeps squinting closed.

Attachments

• 20150415_130753.jpg
    20150415_130753.jpg
    80.7 KB · Views: 195
  • 20150415_130756.jpg
    20150415_130756.jpg
    67.4 KB · Views: 212
  • 20150415_130749.jpg
    20150415_130749.jpg
    80.6 KB · Views: 216
  • 20150415_130735.jpg
    20150415_130735.jpg
    67.8 KB · Views: 179
Please fill out the "How to ask for help" post so we can have a little bit more info on the chameleon.

Richard

My roommate has ambilobe panther male with an eye issue we cant identify and dont know how to fix. Please, any help would be greatly appreciated. Im pretty new to chameleons myself, but i love them thus far. Pictures have been uploaded. Its the left eye, its white and keeps squinting closed.

I am sorry I can't qualify to help. But I must say that's a wonderful Spiderman coloration you have there. Blue bar red body Ambilobe is always catches my attention.

I hope someone here can help and when he gets better please post more pictures.

The fix is taking him to a vet and most likely getting an eye ointment to treat it. You can try flushing the eye with plain saline(not visine). There is a possibility there is something stuck in the eye like shed. If there is any type of discharge coming out then it is infected. I would have him seen by a vet anyways and have him checked out. Vitamin A defeciencies can cause eye problems also. Do you give a multi vitamin? What do you gutload your feeders with??