Advice/Recommendations

tonyjaws

Hello I am still new to this and as crazy as it seems, I’m all in on this as a hobby, as I’ve always wanted reptiles and looked into it but my lifestyle never really permitted for it. That’s recently changed and I’m looking forward to finally adding a few pals to my forever home.

At this time, I currently have a ReptiBreeze XL and I’ve got some window film to cover the sides and back if that is necessary. I’m waiting to put it together until the dragon ledges get here because I’ve read that it’s easier to assemble from the beginning. Both currently in transit, I’ve purchased dragon ledges and a mist king starter w/ 3 corner attachments and a double misting upgrade, cause why not lol (we plan for more reptiles in the future). I wanted to buy it directly from mistking for a few reasons, but mainly their warranty.

My reptile enthusiast friend gave me an extra 48” zoomed fixture but that’s obviously too long. Wondering if I should just get a bulb and use it anyway (again, we plan for more in the future) or if I should get a 24” or 36” and go diagonal with it, which is best? I see everyone suggests this brand or Arcadia but I’d rather not actually spend $150 on a fixture and bulb. Does anyone know where to find Arcadia kits cheaper? Thank you in advance!

I’ve seen several people say the Govee Bluetooth hygrometer are legit so I’ve added a 2pk to my Amazon cart but I’m also looking at probe hygrometer combos just to ensure proper readings throughout the enclosure, what are some good ones made specifically for reptiles? So many online to choose but mixed reviews and I like your guys’ opinions.