Worried about my new panther

Claritali

Hi all,

I am a compete newbie owner - I got my first chameleon 3 days ago. He is a panther chameleon around 3-4 months old.

Currently I am a little worried if he is doing ok. Basically he has not eaten for the last two days and sleeps during the day as well as during the night. He ate some crickets on the day that I got him (even from my hand), but nothing since.

I read on some other threads that it takes them some days to settle in and that I shouldn't worry about him not eating. However I'm a little concerned about the amount that he is sleeping.

Also I wonder what you think about his body condition? he looks a bit skinny to me. At the shop where I got him they fed him 4 crickets a day, but I read here that he could easily have 10 as he is growing.

He is drinking a lot and pooping fine (white and brown - looks normal). Also when I come to the enclosure to mist it or check on him he opens his eyes and will also walk around.

Thank you so much for any advice I just hope there is something I can do to make him feel better!

Chameleon Info:
  • Your Chameleon - 3-4 month old male panther chameleon, in my care since wednesday (3 days)
  • Handling - I do not handle him.
  • Feeding - Feeding him crickets, as that is what he had at the shop where I brought him. Currently he eats size 5-6. I put more than enough crickets in his cage freely (they did it like that at the shop where he was before). This morning I also got him a little bird feeding cup and put crickets in. Crickets are being fed apple/banana/basil leaves at the moment but I plan on switching food items every day.
  • Supplements - I dust te crickets in Reptivite Reptile vitamins with D3 (as this is what they gave him at the shop)