What is this? How do I help my chameleon?

Jtspeedy21

Hello and thanks for adding me to the forum. I am new to owning chameleons and done alot of homework regarding chameleons. I have tried my best to give the 2 that I have the best environment to live in. My chameleons are kept in a screen cage 60x32x18. I noticed this a few weeks ago and thought it was just skin peeling but it now looks like this. I very concerned and looking for advise. This is my female vailed chameleon. I feed vitamin/calcium covered superworms and crickets. Has anyone seen this before? I have a Male in the same cage but his skin is perfect.

Thanks
John
20200709_140950.jpg

Hi John. first off they have to be in separate cages. They can not be housed together. They will hurt one another. He will mate with her and stress her.

Now she has a VERY bad thermal burn. You need to start calling around to vets in your area that treat reptiles and get her an appointment asap. She needs silver sulfadiazine cream asap and this can only be prescribed by a vet. This should be gently applied with a q tip twice a day to prevent infection and heal the burn.

Your basking lamps are either too close, wrong bulb type, or too high of a wattage. Or a combo of all.

To test your basking light....hold your hand inside the cage as close as the chameleon can get to it....if it's too hot for you to comfortably leave your hand there, then you need to raise the light.

Definitely separate the two before its too late. The male will mate with the female ass soon as she is receptive and you will end up with fertile eggs and babies to care for....if the fake doesn't die from the stress of the male being there first. In the wild they can move away from each other....in the cage they are trapped too close.

She needs silver sulfadiazine cream asap and this can only be prescribed by a vet.